Standard Conditions of Recognition

The Standard Conditions of Recognition set out the main requirements that all awarding bodies that we recognise must meet when developing, delivering or awarding their qualifications to learners in Wales.

This is our principal regulatory document. Once an awarding body is recognised, it must comply with the Conditions on an ongoing basis in order to remain recognised by us.


The Standard Conditions of Recognition is part of a suite of regulatory documents found on our Regulatory Documents List.

Awarding bodies must comply with any other requirements that their recognition is subject to (for example, this could include Special and Additional Conditions of Recognition). Awarding bodies must also comply with any other relevant regulatory requirements set out in other regulatory documents.

Main differences at a glance

Our Standard Conditions of Recognition are broadly similar to those applied by regulators CCEA Regulation in Northern Ireland and Ofqual in England. This document sets out the main differences between our respective Conditions to help awarding bodies that operate in more than one country.



We have published a series of guidance on particular Conditions to support awarding bodies.



Thematic guidance

Here is detailed guidance for awarding bodies on equalities, marking and Welsh-medium qualifications:

 Fair Access by Design

Guidance on how good qualification and assessment design can give all learners the fairest possible opportunities to show what they know, understand and can do.


 Mark Schemes in Knowledge-Based Qualifications

This is a good practice guide to support qualification developers and assessors when designing, developing and reviewing mark schemes.



GUIDANCE FOR AWARDING BODIES - the development, delivery and awarding of qualifications through the medium of Welsh

This guidance is designed to support all awarding bodies offering Welsh-medium qualifications, whether you are starting, looking to increase provision or wanting to emulate good practice. The guidance takes you step by step through the development, design, delivery, and awarding of a qualification and also includes good practice examples and links to additional resources and contacts.